Skip to content

Gregory Corso – Saints and Feet

May 15, 2014

“But haven’t you discovered Lucifer? Why St. Francis? Oh, I can see why St. Francis, but why? Is not Lucifer the first free thinker? Is he not the emancipator of worlds? The eternal rebel? Lucifer is love – St. Francis, gee-gaw. And I will not wash Peter’s feet – no never! That is not saintly! I will, instead, have him wash my feet and give me all he possesses in return for having me stay a night or a year on his bed while he sleeps away from me – far away on the floor. And this he will do if he is a saint, but screw saints. One is almost inclined to wash one’s own feet.”

(from letter to Allen Ginsburg, August 23, 1956, in An Accidental Autobiography)

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

